Who is Qualified to Receive Zakat?
بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
Know that it is not permissible to give zakat to anyone except those who Allah identified in His Noble Book (surah Tawbah, verse 60).
"As-Sadaqat (here means Zakat) are only for the Fuqara and Al-Masakin and those employed to collect the (funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah's Cause, and for the wayfarer; a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise."
There is a consensus of the scholars of the past which states that only these eight categories of people are eligible to receive Zakat.
Sheikh Al Islam Ibn Taymeyah rahimahullah ​mentioned:
"It is waajib to distribute zakat to the eight categories if they are found, but if they are not all present, then it is distributed to any of these categories that are present. Also, it can be transferred to a land where these categories are found." See Al Mulakhas al fiqhee from Sheik Fawzan (Chapter of Zakaat, p250).


Al Fuqarah(The poor) Al Masaakin (The needy
Al Ghaarim (The debtor) whose debts are due to personal circumstances such as bankruptcy, job loss, injury, etc, and have reached a state of insolvency.
Fir-Riqaab (Slaves and prisoners)
Ibnus Sabeel (Travellers) who have used all their money and therefore need financial support to continue their journey to reach their final destination


Al 'Amiloon (The zakat workers) who work under the authority of a Muslim ruler in a Muslim land.
Mu'allafatul Quloob (The sympathisers
Al Ghaarim (The debtor) whose debts are due to reconciliation between differing parties.
Al Mujahidoon (The soldiers who fight in Allah's way) in the context of an Islamic state under the authority of a Muslim ruler.
The students of knowledge who dedicate all their time to study Islamic sciences and who have no income from business or work.


In the UK, people could fall into the category of Al Fuqara if they are asylum seekers who have lost everything in their country of origin AND, more generally people who are unemployed, isolated and have NRPF. (No Recourse to Public Funds)
People who receive state benefits are generally in the category of al Masaakin.
However, if they have no family in this country and if they experience delays or sanctions or any other specific circumstances, they can easily fall into the category of Al Fuqarah.


  1. Isolated Muslim single parents unemployed or in part time work facing financial hardship.
  2. Isolated Muslim Asylum seekers who are able to cook.
  3. Muslim Families with only one member of the household in full time or part time employment on minimum wage with 3 children or more with financial problems.
  4. Any Muslim whose (in-work or out-of-work) benefits payments have been stopped or delayed who is in financial crisis.
  5. Muslim families or individuals facing financial hardship whilst having No Recourse to Public Funds NRPF.
  6. Isolated Muslim pensioners (on Pension Credit) who struggle to make ends meet.